Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

My Muddlers

with 7 comments

The Muddlers

With the advent of learning to Spey Cast, traditional, came the need to work on and perfect swinging streamers, wets and the like. One day this summer, I came across a pool, with limestone edging, that I had dismissed years ago; but this year, the pool was teaming with fish and became my special place this summer.

On one of these days, the water and light was perfect, so I can see the fish rise and chase my fly, from 50+’.  To make it perfect, the fish were eager too!   Given this gift, I use this opportunity to improve my presentation and run through my fly box -> 5 casts each fly … then change … see what flies they were most susceptible too.

In order, the best to darn good …. (all took 2 or more fish in 5 casts):

  • Dave’s Soft Gorilla
  • Marabou Muddler
  • Deceiver
  • Black Nose Dace

After this date, I reduce my flies to those above.  The Muddler and Gorilla were consistent performers through-out the summer, and often pulled out aggressive strikes on slow days.

Is there anything special about my marabou muddler tie. Doubt it, but here are some notes.

The recipe is typically:

  1. Hook – Straight – see below for suggestions
  2. Thread – Uni-Thread 6/0 for Body and 3/0 for Head.
  3. Tail – Krystal Flash or Flashbou
  4. Back Body, Lower – Red Marabou
  5. Back Body – Complimentary Marabou
  6. Wing – Peacock Herl
  7. Collar – Complimentary Deer Hair
  8. Head – Deer Hair – Trimmed to wide flat head
  9. Finish – Use thin (penetrating) glue to the base of head.

Medium Muddler without Complimentary Collar

Notes:

Hooks, suggestions:

  1. Large – TMC 9394-4 (a little longer would be nice) – Head Size – 9/16″
  2. Medium – Daiichi 1750-8 – Head Size 5/16″
  3. Small – Mustad CS51S-BLN-14 – Head Size 3/16″

Changes for the Smallest Flies:

  1. Replace Marabou with  Unique Hair
  2. Replace Deer Hair with Caribou (In Canada, Super-Fly (distributor) provides Caribou in dyed colours, which also allows you to use a size 6/0 thread).
  3. Use 6/0 Thread for the head.

Small Muddler Green

There it is, my streamer d’été.

Colours used?

  • Green, complimentary Yellow or Chartreuse
  • Black, complimentary Purple
  • White, complimentary Tan or Light Blue
  • Yellow, complimentary Tan or Chartreuse

Presentation?  Greased Line – Swing, either on a intermediate or floating line.

Aside …. an excellent summary on streamer hooks at globalfisher.  Though, for Deceivers and Muddlers, I prefer straight eye hooks. Too each there own.

Written by raspberryfisher

2009/09/13 at 17:38

Posted in Fly-Tying, Streamer

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] I like to fish -> spey casting-fishing on a river, swinging a fly. Thus my box is full of  muddlers and streamers. I have yet buried myself into traditional spey or dee flies (soon)  nor the new […]

  2. […] with the occassional excursion to other favourites – the klinkhammer (dry flies, of course), my muddlers and david’s gorilla. One of the threads tying this theme to together was a set of recommend […]

  3. […] You seen previousily two examples from my books – on Caddis Rigging and a summary from My Muddlers. […]

  4. […] 8 – 20mm – Standard Marabou Muddler […]

  5. […] its flexibility and ability to soak in – making it perfect to finish off trout dry flies and build muddler deer hear heads.  I probably need to due some comparative testing, so as I settle on Fly-Tite versus Pro-Lak […]

  6. […] Marabou Muddlers […]

  7. Hello there I am so glad I found your blog, I really found
    you by error, while I was searching on Aol for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the
    theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the
    minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

    Vernon

    2017/03/13 at 17:17


Leave a Reply

