Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

the supporting threads

leave a comment »

So my wife is a professional industrial  upholster (boats, snow-mobiles, parking garages (protect those luxury cars), school gyms, padded rooms, antique cars, et cetera), and yet my thread collection exceeds her, and thus I have offered proof of my depth of my collection-obession. So lets continue on with list my of threads, recommendations and usage, with the supporting list:

  • Uni-Gl0 Thread and Yarn – For non-traditional wet flies that are fished in the dark or deep. You need a flashlight to charge them. (Q: And does it make a difference?  A: Yes, in that it gives me a sense of confidence).
  • Uni 3/0 – When bulk is required for tying.
  • Uni 17/0 – When I am tying very small flies (Size 20 or less).

.

  • Pearsall’s Gossamer Silk Thread – For Traditional Cane Rod Building and Wet Flies, where the thread is out for show (prominent on the finished solution). A beautiful floss heavy thread, which darkens when wet (from England). The tones are brilliant and yet natural. Two thumbs up to their dye manager (colourist). Needs a small bobbin. (You can also use the Marabou Floss from Pearsall’s but, but add a wire counter rib to minimize fraying and body damage).
  • Anglers Workshop Silk Thread (prefer size 3/0) – Another beautiful thread for show, but tones are more brilliant (from Japan).  Used for rod building.

.

Rarely used, but I do use:

  • Sulky Thread – Use for Accents and Thread Bodies on Nymphs and Wet Flies. I re-spool to a small sewing machine bobbin.

.

Threads that I have and really do not use:

  • Kevlar – too slick and thus hard to bind and control.
  • Uni-Cord – As in the previous post, Chris Helm would urge me to use this thread for Deer Hair. I guess, I will try it some day.
  • Danville 3/0 – Very nice thread, lies flat, but its usage is in the same space as the Uni 6/0. Access to Uni threads has also been easier too, and this is how Uni came out on top.
  • Gordon Griffiths – As noted in previous posts, I have had quality issues with inconsistent thread strength and bad wrapping.

.

Threads to test, as the eventual replacement of Gudebrod’s 10/0:

  • Moser’s Power Silk 10/0 – Unique bobbin size requirement and limited colours.
  • UTC GSP – Only 50 yards on a bobbin – 1/4 th of the norm!
  • Montana Fly Premium (from Italy) 8/0.
  • Bennechi – No bobbin labelling.

Of course, the discussion can continue with floss, wire-tinsel, tools, and cement. But thats it for today.  Why bother saying on this topic, I have no commenrcial interest and have invest lots of money in tying, as an diversion (craft). Some materials were a waste of money and others have been a great investment. From this, I hope you glean enough to use your money well.

January 2017 Update

  • I continue with the standard goto in the previous post.
    .
  • Moser’s Power Silk 10/0 is a great thread, but unique spool and difficulty to acquire will keep it out of my box as a mainstay.  Yet, it does split well and if you are tying thin and small nymphs, it should be considered.  In these cases, I also use Semperfli Nano Silk and splitting it.
    .
  • Montana Fly Premium – just gets lost in the shuffle of too many thread out there.  I am not saying it is bad, but there is nothing appealing relative to the stiff competition that is out there.
    .
  • Bennechi – fine, but spool does not work well my Ekrich bobbin and the lack of a label is disappointing. These issues does not prevent it from being used, but I see no compelling reason at adopt it.  Oh yes, 10/0 is heavy, so if you do use this, get the 14/0.
    .
  • Veevus – For tying trout flies, initial use indicates that use the 14/0 and forgo the 10/0.  I have not tested this against the 12/0. It appears to come with a slight twist that can be straighten out to allow for a small body and split for for some advance dubbing and CDC techniques.

    I have received thread in 2 different spools, one which may work well with the Ekrich bobbin (may have to trim the thread cut notch with a knife) and another where you have to drill a hole into the spool.

    Still have not decided it if will be a goto thread, but it is a supporting thread, and past the “evaluation stage”.

  • Semperfil 50D Nano Silk – Strong and flat, and know a supporting thread know for any fly that I need to do small.  It is on my supported list and with some distribution in Canada, I do order it.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2011/04/08 at 18:50

Posted in Fly-Tying, Tools

Leave a Reply

