Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Confidence Flies

with one comment

A couple weeks ago, I was at the Salmon River and of course, I lost a few flies. Now I am replenishing my fly box, with those that I lost, focusing on those that I have the most confidence in. First up is the Mahoney that landed me a young steelhead.

For many of my “heron” style flies, I like to keep the wings tented low and use heavy salmon hooks (versus a spey).

Another favourite is the hair-wing Lady Caroline with elk-hock (but moose winging is also a good choice). I do like te Partridge CS42 Bomber Hook – I am still using stock that was produced before Mustad purchase (hooks made in England).

In the past I was also using squirrel dubbing for the body, but I am now working with Seal and heavily teasing out (with velcro) the fur.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2012/11/25 at 22:09

Posted in Fly-Tying, Spey

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] the flip side, I have some recent tied flies clipped in Mahoney variants, Dragon’s Tooth, Boulder Creek, Gaspey Highlander and the Borden Special. With the […]


Leave a Reply

