Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

more trout dry flies

with 3 comments

My favourite flies on the water – an Ausable Wulff (size 12) or the following peacock quill body with a grizzly and ginger hackle as below (size 14 and 16).  I over-size the hackle, and I do let it blow and ride across the water.

on-surface_0405

And when I need a small piece of fluff, I use the following Griffith Gnat variant on a Daiichi 1640 Size 16.  The hackle is too large in this case, but I do reverse tie in the hackle over pecock secured with fine copper, add in some krystal flash on the tail and a CDC overwing.

gnat_0417

In last summer, you can  modify this tie for a BWO – extended body (floss) for the tail, omit the hackle and use a dun CDC over wing.

Written by raspberryfisher

2013/03/29 at 20:24

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice flies. Love that first one in particular.

    Steve Culton

    2013/03/30 at 09:24

    • Thank you. So people gravitate to the Royal Wulff as an attractor, but it is this unname fly is my one of my favourite attractors. I enjoy your blogged, here the snow is still on the ground so the Spring Peepers still are asleep.

      raspberryfisher

      2013/03/30 at 16:52

  2. […] and small CDC Dries, such as […]


Leave a Reply

