Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Thread Update

with one comment

As I noted before, I am a thread-head. But 90% of my activity with trout flies can be summarized as:

  • Standard Thread – Using up my supply of Gudebrod 10/0 and then shift to Veevus 10/0 and 14/0. Spooled on a Ekich Bobbin.  More I use this bobbin for tying trout flies, the more I recommend it!
  • Finest Thread – such as Uni 17/0 on a Rite Bobbin.
  • Of course on a Matarelli Bobbin, some Pearsall’s Gossamer silk.

threads_0421

After experimentation and testing, I choose Gudebrod 10/0 as my goto trout thread. But they discontinue production!  I noted earlier>

  • Uni is nice, but heavy. I do use the 8/0 for spinning deer hair.
  • I have been disappointed in the spooling quality of Griffith’s.
  • Bennechi is nice, but does not work well with the Ekick Bobbin.
  • Moser’s Power Silk requires a respooling or a bobbin modification Materilli)
  • Admitedly, I have not done a through test, but though I have some of the new Wapsi-UTC thread and Veevus, and now I am moving towards Veevus as my default,  as it proving to be fine and strong.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2013/03/31 at 16:34

Posted in Fly-Tying, Tools

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] reported earlier, I have been slowly transitioning to Veevus thread as my replacement for the discontinued Gudebrod for trout flies, but have wondered what […]


Leave a Reply

