Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Lady Caroline – Instructions

with 8 comments

The Lady Caroline is one of these flies you always want to have in your box to swing for Steelhead, Large Trout or Smallmouth Bass. You will rarely see this fly in a store, but for those who tie and swing flies, it is a goto fly. Yes, I do use the L-C often.  Via the Speypages Forum a link was posted to an excellent instructional video of a traditional Lady Caroline that is worth sharing.

My variants are shorter and thus rely upon a compressed tinsel over a body composed of seal or squirrel dubbing.  Mine flies are arguably over-hackle.

lc-side_8575

And I have tied hairwing conversions as well.

hairwing-caroline_8578

Written by raspberryfisher

2013/05/06 at 23:14

Posted in Fly-Tying, Spey

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great looking flies. I’ve never tried tying one of these before.. I just might.give it a try next week. Does your variant utilize deer hair .

    stevegalea6953

    2013/05/07 at 04:18

  2. Hello Mr. Wilson/Raspberryfisher,
    I must really compliment you on your blog. When do you find the time to do it all?
    Well done, I love it!
    I am very much enjoying following your interests. We seem to be sympatico in so many shared topics.
    Good food, love of beauty in nature, watercolours, love of family, the weather, and of course fly fishing.
    Really like your spey flies. I love tying all kinds of flies from classic Bergman wets and MOM lake flies to salmon and steelhead/spey and most everything in between.
    Where do you live in Ontario?
    I live on the banks of the Grand River in Fergus. We moved here from Toronto and absolutely love the country life.
    Enough of my comments in this space. Maybe we could correspond via e-mail?
    Sincerely,
    John

    JOHN HOFFMANN

    2013/08/02 at 00:55

    • Thank you for the compliment. I live in Eastern Ontario (outside of Almonte), but grew up primarily in Toronto and with much of child summers in Muskoka. Time is still an issue. I have several rods being 80% built including my first cane rod (5wt) and want to do more with photography (film). I have some rough 3 sketches that I also need to convert into some print – mixed media is the idea and one will be using watercolours. I will send an email, but I also suspect you are the guide with Wilsons on the Grand?

      raspberryfisher

      2013/08/02 at 05:44


Leave a Reply

