Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Tube Bunnies

with 2 comments

I am still experimenting and developing my eye for tube flies, but I have been tying these “Tube Bunnies” for trout. They range from 2 to 3 inches.  Once done, I will have them in Grey, White, Black and a couple of Olives.  Been thinking about a “sunfish” version for Bass to.

tube-bunny_4891

I soon have to stop tying for a few weeks, so the series is not likely to be completed until November.  I have a heavy travel period coming up (LA, San Diego, Dallas, Hamburg, Chicago, Cleveland), and expected to be home for 3-4 days in all of October. What little free time I have will be to cut grass, rake leaves and get ready for winter.

Written by raspberryfisher

2013/09/23 at 18:11

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fishy looking flies. I have never tried tying tube flies. Is it much different?

    stevegalea6953

    2013/09/24 at 22:59

    • Rigging is the most different, and I think there is a greater need to “tie in the round”. The diameter is also larger on the tube, so you consume more material with each rotation.

      raspberryfisher

      2013/09/24 at 23:55


Leave a Reply

