Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Updated Scott 1409 Rod Handle

with one comment

As noted before, I like to choke in my handle grip on a two-handle spey rod – whether I am scandi or skagit casting, versus the traditional long arm extension of a long line. As such, my fit on some production rods is poor. So to match the handle to me and reduce weight, I took my original Scott 1409 and did the following:

  • Sanded the upper grip down to a smaller diameter (from about 1.2″ to 1.0″), and removed the upper hand finger notch.
  • Remove 1.5″ off the lower handle and add a new butt fitted in a double tenon onto the rod and then cork.
  • Add a 1.3 oz lead bar into the lower handle.
    .
  • The butt is constructed from African Blackwood and a Raspberry Rhino-Plastic Turning Blank. The pieces where independently turned, but turned to be a tight and adjoining fit. There is no varnish and relying on the properties of the material for protection. The African Blackwood was finished with 600 grit, while the plastic was finished to 6000 (wet mesh). The red was chosen to match the Scott writing above the handle.

This has allowed me to remove weight off (T17) the reel, and the balance point is now 16.5″ from the butt.

DWW_8490

I use this setup for Skagit casting, deep plumbing off pools in the winter. I am still debating what line I like the best with it.

I have been too busy to keep up with posting. I have not been tying flies for the past 4 months, but been working on several projects, which I will update in the near future.

Written by raspberryfisher

2014/05/10 at 21:42

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] old Scott G1409 – 14′ 9wt 4pc used as a Skagit Rod to search the bottom of a river in Winter with large […]


Leave a Reply

