Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Wet Flies in my Trout Box – Just an Update

with 2 comments

What wet flies for ttout are in my box today?  My wet flies are a mash-up reflecting what I have in material and thinking at the moment.  So here is a run-down.

This is a fly I want to learn to tie better and use more often, as it is so the right tones and reminds me of a Lady Caroline in which I would boldly swing through a pool. It is an UK pattern, which I have forgotten the name of.

DWW_2371

At the opposing end is this Iron Blue Dun (Beaver Dubbing) small light fly using Pearsall’s silk thread and used with little tension on the line – nymphying or swinging or both?

DWW_2365

This illustrates the differences in thread, with the above with Pearsall’s thread with a rope like quality and below using Danville’s thread and laying it down flat. Ostrich not only provides a constrast, but also supports the hackle.

DWW_2403

And when I want weight and flash, then my copper peacock.

DWW_2394

And a Hare’s Ear.

DWW_2393

When I can I search for Partridge Skins, so as I can get a hackle like this.

DWW_2389

Orange is a standard colour for me, and I believe the feather is off a local grouse.

DWW_2375

So that is it. Beyond the Muddler and the Sculpzilla, these are my standards when dishing with a two handed spey rod for trout.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2015/03/14 at 20:15

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great tying and flies, but I kind of feel that, while they certainly are fished wet, they come more under the heading of spiders and soft hackles. Just a thought, and semantics aside, they look like they’ll really do the job!

    Gary Tanner

    2015/03/15 at 03:29

    • Gary, I absolutely agree the vast majority are spider or soft hackles. I guess one reason for this over-simplification is simplfying the tags and references. Also reflects when I started out many decades ago, spiders were given to me, but called “wets”. Thank you for the comment and compliement.

      raspberryfisher

      2015/03/15 at 18:32


Leave a Reply

