Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Small Fly Fishing Kit

leave a comment »

Fly-Fishing can be a bulky endeavour – rods, waders, boots, and hundreds of flies. So I have been working to reduce-reduce and reduce, so I can take a small kit with me on my travels. So here is my current answer:

  • No Waders and Boots – so I must keep to the shore and the edges of water.
  • Jacket and Hat  – my regular Gore-Tex jacket.
  • Fly-Rods + Reel: 9′ 5pc (9wt and 5wt) – will fit in my regular check in luggage.
    .
  • Fishing Bag, as below.

travel kit fish DWW_4690

Fishpond Bag – with the large back pocket holding:

  • Maui Polarized Sunglasses
  • Waterproof Camera
  • Buff – with sunscreen and hat provides the protection I need from sun and insects
  • Flies – Either tube bunnies or one box dry flies

On the bag’s side – floatant, tippet (2x-6x) and nippers.

On the bag’s front – a rare earth magnet – as previously reported a catch all convenience to hold flies on the stream as I can things around.

travel fish kit DWW_4702

The most open pocket holds:

  • Leaders for Dry Flies – 7.5′ (4x pocket water) and 9′ in (5x flat water).
  • Leaders for Streamers – often stubby dry fly leaders, conditioned
  • Furled Leader – 12′ Leader
  • Seaguar Fluorocarbon Tippet – 3x (streamer) and 5x (nymph)
  • Maxima Chameleon Tippet – 12lb 
  • 3x Glasses and Lens Cleaning Cloth
  • Scissors, Needle with a thread loop
  • Licenses

Streamers and Nymphs on the Foam Patch:

travel fish kit DWW_4710

tracvel kit fish DWW_4692

Moving to the outer edge, the front flap, we have tools used to support me when I need to release a fish:

  • Foreceps
  • Leahterman Multitool Juice S4 that includes pliers, siccors and a knife

fish travel kit DWW_4713

Under the flap are some stream side accessories

  • Insect Repellent
  • Weight – Tin Shot and Mud to treat nymph leaders
  • Floats – either home made or “pin” style
  • note picture shows the rare earth magnet

travel fish kit DWW_4693

And in the one dry fly box, given I do not know what water I will be on, I keep soe generic, but favourite flies that span a wide range  – starting in the top left and going clockwise – in varying colours and sizes:

travel kit fish DWW_4603

Is there anything missing, yeah, but right now the only thing I am wishing to add are:

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2015/09/13 at 00:51

Leave a comment