Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

James Green 7wt 10′ DH Update

with 3 comments

An update on my setup with James Green DH 7wt 10′ setup. In the last few months, I have moved over to OPST Commando Heads. With a Snap T Spey Cast and the short aggressive head it is allowing me to get the fly, with the trees on my back.

You need a relaxed cast, and I still amazed at how light the rod is, so it is fun rod for small crowded rivers.

700-img_4477

Right now I have a 350 gr line + MOW Medium Tips, but I am looking to order and try a heavier line (I have tried lighter lines, but the 350 is the best fit of the lines I do have on hand).

Written by raspberryfisher

2016/09/10 at 05:22

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Dave for writing these posts. I’ve got a switch rod build in the works and your articles and experiments have really helped. Like you I’ll be swinging a smaller river with lots of trees behind. I see you haven’t posted in a while. I want you to know folks like me are still reading..
    Thanks again David

    David

    2017/04/29 at 21:43

    • David thank you. I will continue to post, but less frequently. This is really to make sure the material is a function of the elements I focus outside of my work-career > fishing, family, photography and being outside in my little area.

      raspberryfisher

      2017/04/30 at 03:53

  2. […] shown, as it is a short “spey” switch rod is my 10′ 7wt 4pc (travel ready) James Green Fiberglass with the OPST 350 grain line on a Danielsson 3W reel.  Rod is designed for close in fishing […]


Leave a Reply

