Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Bonefishing – do not (sun) burn

leave a comment »

blog-3-img_5008

Forget the shorts and short sleeve.

Forget the tan.

Your are in the sun for 8-10 hours for days, so cover-up.  The only part of our bodies that was exposed for hours was the tip of our fingers, but otherwise we were covered up from head to toe. Sun-burn is not fun, and something we have to take seriousily personally as Judy’s last skin cancer operation was July.

So my observation on clothing ….

  • Boots
    • I (David) had the Simms ZipIts which protect my feet well.  Web reviews complain they are heavy, and given the slow pace and I do walk in heavy hiking boots (not fishing), I had no issue with the weight. I do recommend these boots.
      .
      I used neoprene socks with thin liners or the thin liners with hiking socks – with both solution as being fine. but I think I had a slight preference to the latter.
      .
      One recommendation, when the boot drys out, the fine sand from the flats becomes cement, so after the day is done, flush the boot well, clear the zipper, gusset and let it dry with the zipper partially close OR leave the boots in a bucket of water.
      .
    • Judy represented a challenge with a Women’s Size 6 foot and trying to find a fishing-flats boot from the usual suppliers was impossible. As fishing is treated as a “man’s past-time”, clothing options are (sadly) fewer for women. Her new Ski-Doo boots started to fall apart after Day 2.  Not impressed.
      .
    • Sandals – as the flats (our flats) was mostly sand, good sandals fitted with a neoprene sock would be a good choice.
      .
  • Pants – what ever you like that are happy to walk in – all day – where you are wet from ankle to knees.  I prefer tan to reflect the colour of the sea bed floor and keep “solar loading” down.
    .
  • Long-Sleeve – A lot of good tropic shirts out there – LL Bean, Simms, Patagonia, Columbia, et cetera. I have not made up my mind which I prefer …
    • The traditional multi-pocket and pleated shirt, which is cooler flapping in the wind (and noiser) OR
    • the standard long-sleeve crew neck, warmer but I do not hear it flapping in the wind. I will probably stay with the crew-neck, especially is I migrate to a sling pack in the future.
      .

blog-3-dscn0581

blog-3-dscn0500

  • Head and Neck Sun Blocker – I highly recommended the Simms Sungaiter.  It is better than the popular Buff as it is fitted and has fine holes for breathing.  Oh yes, it can be wore high, covering your ears and actually help keep your glasses secure. Judy also had some second skin cut to shape, to fit on her nose, as another layer of protection, as the remaining skin (from the skin cancer operation) and scar tissue is still easily damaged.
    .
  • Hat – I prefer a tan wide brim hat with a dark under side that protects my ears (I use also for gardening), but also keep your standard long bill fishing cap for those windy days.I also found the wide brim hat was a little harder to hear with, impacting my fishing from the boat when the guide was quietly giving instructions.
    .
  • Polarized Glasses – Dark Grey or Blue.  I found little difference in performance between Maui Jim and Costa del Mar. With the Simms Sungaiter, I ditched my standard cable glass retaining strap.
    .
    The one thing I was missing was a small bottle of glass cleaner, to wash off the salt mid-day.
    .
  • Gloves – TFO Mangrove Gloves – hard to find (I buy from feather-craft), but they are light, good, thin et cetera …. strong recommendation after we have tried many.
    .
  • Last tips ….
    • Before breakfast put on lotion on your checks and nose, then wash your hands.
    • Avoid the insect repellant.
    • Fishing bag, sling …. which-ever.  What ever is comfortable for you. Unlike trout fishing, you are not carrying much for fishing, the big items may be your rain-jacket, lunch, snack and water.

blog-3-dscn0546

and last, as we left, we were able to get a bird-eye view of where we fished

blog-3-img_5043

.

 

Written by raspberryfisher

2016/12/16 at 02:00

Leave a Reply

