Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

my extended tube fly rigging

leave a comment »

 

In continuation from the last post, in greater detail, given the additional complexity associated with it, here is a SBS of my extended tube flies. For interest, I return to my old Canon G11 (ASA 400) under an LED light to see image quality.

The materials, with the tippet and the pink seed bead threaded.  You can user larger beads, but as this is a thin fly, I prefer the fine seed bead.

As noted in my previous post, I prefer a stiffer tippet, such as Maxima Chameleon 12# or heavier Seaguar Blue Fluorocarbon.

As you are working with multiple small parts, this is not a procedure you want to execute when in the river with cold hands and a wind in your face. Get comfortable, then relax and proceed.

2a IMG_1996

Yes, the seed bead is there.  If you use larger beads, ensure the hole is not too larger and will allow the knot to pass through, or be prepared to stack small to large beads.

1a IMG_1993

Apply the hook, and as illustrated I wrap the shank to provide for a strong tippet, but also a stiffer tippet.

3b IMG_1998 2

3c IMG_1998

Create an open loop knot, I use the Rapala Knot, and thus why I started before the hook wrap with a loop. If the final loop is large enough, you can add the loop after you thread on the hook as the hook is easy to manipulate.

Oh yes, I have yet to do this, but I intend to keep scrap cuttings off my tube flies to protect the hook point from digging into me.

4a IMG_2000

Knot secured, trimmed and pulled in.

5 IMG_2001

My on the river box of beads and hooks.

6a IMG_2002

And a guide to the Rapala know, with the modification that I wrap the tippet around the hook shank on a Up-Eye Hook.

Rapala-knotdb

Oh yes, if you are keeping to ProTube, I recommend looking at the new MicroTubes that allow for the inclusion of a silicon hook holder – medium or large.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2017/05/06 at 22:07

Posted in Fly-Fishing, Spey, Streamer

Leave a Reply

