Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Bead Eye

with one comment

eye-1

I have had to create some more eyes and did some experiments, which I note here, and refined my technique.:

  • Beads: For my small eyes, I am using 10/0 Seed Beads and 8/0 for larger.
  • Monofilament is RIO Hard Mono Saltwater – 0/021″, 20#/
  • The tips are painted with Sally Hansen Miracle Gel – Black being the default.
    .
    I did experiment with Copic ink and Steadtler markers, but the inks would bleed from the solvents associated with the final coating.
    .
  • Using a wax candle, not a lighter to lightly touch and burn the tip. Easier on the fingers after you do 30 sets of eyes and greater control when moving the monofilament to the flame.
    .
  • Final coating is Solarez Bone Cure

flats fiend polar DSC5554

 

blue-_dsc8371

 

image-2img_5216

🙂

 

Written by raspberryfisher

2020/02/02 at 04:23

Posted in Fly-Tying, Saltwater

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] like making my monofolimat eyes, for in general, I would argue my bead seed eyes are better than the commercial […]


Leave a comment