Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

long spey lines for long rods

with 3 comments

As in previous posts, I do venture into looking into line profiles.

Now, as I venture towards far and fine fly fishing, I have been looking to long spey lines, and when you do this, one gets in a discussion on the discontinued mythical CND GPS line. So I have been asking some questions on speypage forums, and been fortunate enough to get real data.

One detailed review produced the following (you may want to click on the image or goto the original post on speypages by rbeckius (who did this work!)):

.

With the reasonable conclusion:

  • NextCast and Bridge lines are similar with a tip focus load.
  • Gaelforce progressive slope.
  • SRO Vector XL is similar to CND GPS, though with the gentle back taper you may keep the head a little further out (~4′) šŸ™‚

In the case of my light 15’6″ Trout Spey, I have been using a SRO Vector 45′ 390 grains, happily. The lightest SRO Vector XL is 50′ 450 grains.

I have acquired a used GPS 5/6 and it is listed as 55′ at 432 grains, which does more what I am looking for my trout spey.

One the ice melts off the river, it will time to have some fun and compare.

Eriefisher in SpeyPages did post this CND GPS summary sheet.

.

and the next project

And what about my other line line rod project. My Quantum 16’7″ 7wt is partially built (I need to replace my drill press to create the handle), but I am ready to experiment with this rod. As previously discussed by cmann866, it appears this rod is happy with long and heavy. His assessment of the good from short to long:

  • Gaelforce EEx 15m (49′) 8wt 642 grains, great shooting line with an intermediate poly leader.
  • Gaelforce 63 78 662 grains, but reported to feel light
  • SRO Vector XL 65′ 89 660 grains, caster was delighted, but Steve (Quantum) thought this was heavy
  • Gaelforce 73 89 756 grains
  • Gaelforce 83 89 817 grains, casts well, but a little heavy

Currently received or on order:

  • Vector XL 65′ 89 660 grains
  • Gaelforce 63 708 grains
  • Gaelforce 73 756 grains

But what about a used CND line. As I look at the old pricing sheet, the GPS 89 is 70′ at 671 grains, probably a nicer fit than the Gaelforce 73, and the 910 is 75′ at 779 grains is no improvement.

So I am assembly some lines, and hopefully this spring, I will have selected what I like best.

.

šŸ™‚

Written by raspberryfisher

2022/03/05 at 19:13

Posted in Spey

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] – allowing us to compare our collective line collection, I have added more lines since my last post on long lines and the mythical CND GPS. The combined result is a messy comparative graph, but we […]

  2. […] Update: I did find and buy a lightly modified CND GPS 55′ at 432 grain, which increases line to rod ratio to over 3.5, but as the head has the typical CND slow taper off, […]

  3. […] journey started with a desire to understand what made the discontinued CND GPS a beloved Unicorn for long rods – Meiser 15’6″ 5wt or 16’7″ 7wt […]


Leave a comment