Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

the Kabutos

with 2 comments

This is a visual study of the Kabuto series

The Kabuto Rod Set – 2, 3 and 5 wt

The 2wt, clear blank with green trim
The 3wt, clear with blue trim
The 5wt in Amber

All three rods are kept in well made bags made by Jillian (the bag lady), who does a marvelous job.

I maintain the same large handle, as it affords a relaxed grip. I maintain this relax grip extends to loose-free movement of the arm, providing greater control in the cast.

Reel seats, I really like my old discontinued Struble Reel Seats (on the 2 and 3 wt), and have a Bellinger on the 5wt. As previously discussed, an up-locking reel seat would have been a smarter choice on the 2 and 3wt, and a down-locking on the 5wt given the weight for a better balance – id est, the opposite of what I did. Never-the-less, the rods do balance well with the reels I have selected.

  • Kabuto 2wt – Old Lamson Litespeed 1.5 reel with an RIO Classic 3wt line.
  • Kabuto 3wt – Danielsson Midge reel with a Guideline Faio 4wt line.
  • Kabuto 5wt – Hardy Princess reel with a old Wulff TT 5/6 line.

As I posted in detail on the 2wt reel insert, I will say little more, other than note I used clear (no yellowing) E6000 to bond the rod to the translucent insert.

The penmanship is improving, but what I have settled on ….

  • Write my text on a separate piece of tape, to confirm what spacing I must have.
  • Wrap and epoxy in the boundary thread.
  • Let the epoxy form-settle-set for 3 days.
  • Lightly buff with 600-1500 grit wet sandpaper, the writing area. Then clean.
    • To get a light even sand, I will chuck the rod in a lathe and lightly sand as it spins. This setup takes time, as I also use a center spindle rest, tape up the rod and the reel seat. It is also a good time to finish the cork.
      .
  • Practice patience.
  • Using a Hunt ExFine Calligraphy Nib and Daler Rowney Arcylic Ink write the inscription.
    • The rod is supported in a plywood with a dado inset, an idea I picked up from Flexcoat.
    • The nib was lightly touched up on a fine waterstone.
    • And I use the previous sample inscription on tape as a reference.
    • Keep paper towels and alcohol ready to wipe away a mistake.
      .
  • Practice patience
  • Wait 3+ days for everything to set.
    .
  • Practice Patience
  • Apply the warmed (25-30C) mixed epoxy, in this case Thread-Master Lite.
    • Do not modify the epoxy (no alcohol, acetone, et cetera).
    • I let the epoxy sit for 15 minutes after it is mixed, so some heat has already been released.
    • I first apply the epoxy in long lights stroke, down the axis of the rod, before I turn on the rod turner, and ensure I have covered the area (close to the edges).
    • Start the rod turning and ensure the edge are covered, and then slowly spiral my brush from one end to the other.
    • As it rotates, again lightly clean any excess.
    • The rod turns in a custom sealed heat box to keep dust down and temperature at 25-30C.
      .
  • Practice patience

Inscription on the far side

A detailed look at the script and thread choices, including the 3wt, which shows I had problems with epoxy and did not clean up well, a failed ink.

.

Tips, were my current focus is a small-short transition of epoxy.

.

Guides and Ferrules

Both the Kabuto 2wt and 3wt I just wrapped ProWrap Nylon 813 Silver Shiner Size A and epoxy with no fancy trimming. Trimming was left to the ferrule and in the case of the 2wt, with the agate guide.

The Kabuto 5wt Guides were wrapped with Gudebrod Sunburst and all were trim with Fuji Orange 15. For the ferrules and and agate guide, an additional Fuji Red NOCP 20 was included.

As I was doing transparent wraps, I had to learn a new way to add trim bands.

.

The Agate Guides from Joe Arguello

.

With the reels

,

As this blog series is for me, to sit back, access and learn, what would I do today.

Reel Seat

  • Kabuto 2 – up-lock, possibly a Lemke LC1 Silver
  • Kabuto 3 – up-lock, possibly a Lemke LC1 Silver
  • Kabuto 3 – down-lock, possibly a Lemke LC1 Silver or Gold

Reel Seat Insert

  • Kabuto 2 – Acrylic Snowball White – as implemented
  • Kabuto 3 – Acrylic Translucent Blue
  • Kabuto 3 -Acrylic Translucent Amber

Handle and winding check

  • No change

Inscription

  • Consistency, with my name on the right, and the rod name on the left, but otherwise no change (just get better).

Thread and Trim

  • Kabuto 2wt – No change
  • Kabuto 3wt – Same thread, but ensure – like the 2wt – trim is on the ferrule and agate wraps.
  • Kabuto 5wt – No change

Epoxy and Glue

  • Use Titebond to secure the cork
  • Use E6000 to sure the reel seat
  • Use Thread Master Lite on the thread

Guides and tip

  • No change, but if I had a more pure Orange for the 5wt Agate Guide, I would use it.

Rod Socks

  • No Change.

.

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2022/10/24 at 06:32

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. All beautiful… nicely done!

    Robert Scott

    2022/10/24 at 15:36

  2. […] single hand rods, for a relax grip, I like a simple large cylinder. My hand can shift and to grip the rod, my muscle contraction is not extreme and my fingers are not […]


Leave a comment