Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

Spey Line 56 – CND GPS vs Vector

with 2 comments

As previously noted the discontinued CND GPS is on a pedestal and often look at fondly for long rod and lines. In my research, I picked up a CND GPS 56 with the plan to use with my Meiser 5wt 15’6″ rod and play with it as an alternative to the SRO Vector 56.

Post submission correction: The SRO line is a Vector and not a Vector XL, which is listed as 5′ longer and 60 grains heavier.

.

As above, the CND is 6′ longer and has an additional 40 grains, and distinctly has the CND belly step.

.

Looking at my collection of CND measurements, we can see the belly step is common with CND, though the transition from the head for the 56 is atypically “quick” (I did measure twice, to reduce the possibility of measurement error).

.

Where as we can see, a common trait of the SRO Vector is a continuous taper to the tip.

Both cast well, though I find the Vector is more forgiving and I can keep a little more line out on the setup; while I am getting a little more distance on my best cast with the CND. I do believe the shape of the roll-out differs (a function of the mid-belly step).

But, do I have a preference? Right now, I prefer the Vector on my tall Meiser 5wt, but I have left the CND on the reel and may try some heavier flies with it.

I am using long leaders, 12’+ of Chameleon 18 or 20# and then a short tippet of Seaguar Blue 12# or less.

.

An update reel-rod image, and though I do like large arbour reels, I do like the feel and sound of this modern custom Wayne Petrevan Reel.

.

🙂

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2023/07/04 at 17:26

Posted in Fly-Fishing, Spey

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] 20200703 Update: I did find and buy a lightly modified CND GPS 55′ at 432 grain, which increases line to rod ratio to over 3.5, but as the head has the typical CND slow taper off, I use less dangle, so effective distance gain is closer to 6′ (without shooting), and has the typical for CND step in the belly. […]

  2. […] the Vector 56 on the Meiser 1305 S (also a 3.2 ratio), but have not tried the longer Vector XL or CND GPS on this […]


Leave a comment