Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

James Green Trout Switch Handle – build start

leave a comment »

.

I really like my 10′ 5wt James Green rod, with the vanity exception I wish I put my colour into it, rather than the black and brown. So, here is my second rod.

As I wanted a stablized reel seat – dyed blue-purple from Mike at Snake Brand – I have to assemble the handle on a 1/2″ stint (as the diameter of the blank is to big into the seat).

.

.

The handle was shape short (no surprise, given my previous blogs), but I can get a full comfortable grip aroud the butt.

.

.

and I can get the complete hand on the lower grip, and with a tight grip:

  • My fingers are not digging into my palm
  • My thumb is on the reel seat
  • and I am not interferring with the reel

.

.

And how does this compare with the previous 2 builds – long rods.

.

.

So I continue with short lower grips, where the lower grip is between 4 to 5″.

.

For a later post, but I have epoxy in the stint (joing the rod and lower handle (good flex remains), put on the cork and turned the upper on my lathe.

.

🙂

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2024/01/31 at 05:37

Posted in Rod-Building, Spey

Leave a comment