Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

James Green NTS 3wt

with 2 comments

This is a James Green 7’4″NTS (Native Trout Series) 3wt, built using with:

  • Down-locking Lemke LC1 Reel
  • Premade Cork Handle
  • Struble Silver Check
  • Fuji Stripper
  • Snake Brand Traditional Guides
  • Silk Thread YLI 100wt in Brown, Tan, and Red
  • Al’s Colour Preserver
  • ProKote Thread Finish Epoxy
  • Faber-Castell PITT Artist Pen – M

The 8 guides were placed as a function of a static flex text with the rod bent by 30 inches, which explains why the spacing for this full-flex rod is less tip focus than a traditional graphite rod. Once I looked at uniform flex, I decided to stay with traditional double foot snake guide.

I intentionally applied the finish thin (total 3 coats), but did extend to well beyond the thread and ensure I capture the base of the guides.

Best line fit – Guideline Vario Tactical 3wt WF and my old SA XPS 3wt DT

I was surprised that me RIO Classic 3wt did not feel “right”. I could cast it, but it took more thought to manage a good cast.

Reels, light reels do not need to apply. I found it works with a SA System 2, 56L Hardy Princess or a Hardy Perfect (2 7/8″). If I bought a new reel, I would go for a large arbour reel (better for the fly line), without a plastic clicker, such as the Danielsson F3W 2six.

A drag is not required, but most large arbor reels with a clicker has a plastic clicker, which means it has an operational life of 10 years (give or take). There are some other awesome large arbour reels, but these reels are twice the price too.

.

.

.

.

.

2021-12-20 Update

Images with its final selected reel.

.

.

Guideline Vario Tactial WF thoughts

There are many things to like about this line:

  • Supple
  • Fine tip loop (unlike the Cortland 444, I do not cut them off)
  • Comfortable to hold
  • Shoots well

Observation:

  • Long front taper

And concerns:

  • It is heavy in accordance to AFFTM standards, more of a 3/4. It also works really well on this rod and my Sage ESN, but not with my Scott G 3wt.
  • I have mixed feelings on their new packaging, and though it is “plastic free”, unspooling it is a PITA and it does not help with the rigors-crushing of shipping.

.

🙂

.

Written by raspberryfisher

2021/10/24 at 02:01

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a very pleasant transaction with Vlad at VR-Design Reels to get a nice Trutta Perfetta reel for my James Green 3wt, which you see here spooled with a Guideline Fario Tactical […]

  2. […] be slow to unwind; otherwise the line in the paper spool will drop and bind (lock in). I note the Guideline Paper Packaging (as reported at the end of the James Green 3wt posting), does not allow you to use a centre spindle, so you need to be patient and do it by […]


Leave a comment