Raspberryfisher's Blog

notes on fishing & travel

VR Designs Reel on James Green NTS 3wt

leave a comment »

I completed a very pleasant transaction with Vladimir at VR-Design Reels to get a nice Trutta Perfetta reel for my James Green 3wt, which you see here spooled with a Guideline Fario Tactical 3wt.

.

.

Like many, I see a trout reel primary purpose is to hold the line, especially as we get to a 3wt line. Never-the-less, if building a nice custom rod, it is nice to have a nice matching reel to compliment.

Observations:

  • Vlad is great to work with, and transaction-shipping was A+.
  • Reels a little heavy compared to the many ultralights, but this is NOT a critical feature in trout rods. If fact, I believe most reels today are too light (showing my spey preferences).
  • Loud click’r – louder than my Hardy’s.
  • The large arbour supports a 3wt WF (or less, but not more)
  • Well made.

After this experience, I would consider a custom reel from Vlad for my next spey rod.

.

🙂

Written by raspberryfisher

2021/12/20 at 19:46

Leave a comment